DKE Homepage

Logo VDE / DKE Annual Report 2015 STANDARDIZATION NETWORKING THE FUTURE

STANDARDIZATION NETWORKING THE FUTURE

Dear Reader,

Roland Bent

"To promote accident prevention in the interests of public safety and consumer protection, in particular to protect the users of electrical engineering, electronics, information technology and computer science products, to protect the public from physical danger, and to protect property, the environment and other values": that is how it is phrased in the VDE statutes. This primary objective of ensuring that people remain safe when dealing with electricity is largely achieved by means of electrotechnical standardization. This guiding principle has given rise to a comprehensive set of standards over the last 120 years. VDE 0100, which details the safe construction of low-voltage installations, was the original VDE standard, yet the subsequent decades saw the development of specific standards for a wide range of electrotechnical applications.

Rapid technological progress, especially in the last 20 years, has confronted us with many technologies and application complexes such as the Smart Grid, Industry 4.0 or electric mobility which are highly systemic in nature. Convergent, cross-cutting technological issues such as information security run consistently through all applications. Right from the outset, standards have constituted an important basic framework and provide guidance in these complex topics. They link together the individual areas to create the great technical themes of today. Jointly established standards require cross-disciplinary cooperation and bring together players from such diverse areas as medicine, engineering, sociology and business, for example, to create a working group in the field of Active Assisted Living. The same applies to Industry 4.0, where the machinery and plant producers are working hand in hand with automation technicians and IT specialists. Consensus-based standards and specifications are essential prerequisites for the successful implementation of new concepts and technologies in such cross-cutting issues. But technological change is not the only factor here. The standardization policy framework is also changing. There are increasing calls for freely available standards, more transparency and shorter turnaround times. An efficient, continuously optimized system for electrotechnical standardization represents a key element in securing the future of Germany as a business location. Methods for achieving this now need to be found.

Standardization roadmaps represent one solution. DKE technical experts are releasing increasing numbers of these publications on the key application complexes, with the goal of making the jointly generated results available to interested groups and policy makers. Such publications pick up on the latest developments, foster a common understanding and help raise awareness in related areas. In doing so they pave the way for integrated solutions, highlight the need for standards and specifications and serve as a strategic model for European and international standardization work. The DKE is rising to face the challenge of technological development by adopting this cross-disciplinary approach. But the future holds further challenges which also need to be overcome. Possible solutions could lie in the targeted use of modern IT tools or in the optimization of processes or organizational structures. Topics such as content management, online communication and standards management are discussed and addressed in the DKE's own internal “Standardization 2020” programme which focuses primarily on the strategic orientation and ongoing development of the DKE’s services for standards users and technical experts.

We are considering new forms of cooperation and new methods of online standard processing and commenting. We are installing tools like the Use Case Management Repository as the basis of new approaches for standardization. We are using new communication channels such as social media and webinars for the dissemination of standards-related and other information.

With safety as our goal, and as guardians of the knowledge about tomorrow’s technologies, we are committed to
STANDARDIZATION NETWORKING THE FUTURE

Bent
Roland Bent, President of the DKE

DKE Homepage

Logo VDE / DKE Jahresbericht 2015 Normung vernetzt Zukunft

Normung vernetzt Zukunft

Liebe Leserinnen, liebe Leser,

Roland Bent

„Fördern der Unfallverhütung im Interesse der Sicherheit der Allgemeinheit und des Verbraucherschutzes, insbesondere der Anwender von Erzeugnissen der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik, Informationstechnik und Informatik, zum Schutz vor Gefahren für Leib und Leben, Sachwerte, Umwelt und sonstige Werte“, so ist es in der VDE-Satzung zu lesen. Dieses grundlegende Ziel, die Sicherheit des Menschen im Umgang mit Elektrizität zu gewährleisten, wird maßgeblich durch die elektrotechnische Normung erreicht. Aus diesem Leitgedanken hat sich in den letzten 120 Jahren ein umfangreiches Normenwerk entwickelt. Während die VDE 0100 zur sicheren Errichtung von Niederspannungsanlagen die Mutter aller VDE-Normen ist, entstanden in den folgenden Jahrzehnten spezifische Normen für die unterschiedlichsten elektrotechnischen Anwendungsgebiete.

Begründet im rasanten technischen Fortschritt, insbesondere der letzten 20 Jahre, haben wir es heutzutage mit vielen hoch systemischen Technologien und Anwendungskomplexen wie Smart Grid, Industrie 4.0 oder Elektromobilität zu tun. Technologiekonvergente Querschnittsthemen wie z. B. die Informationssicherheit ziehen sich dabei durchgängig durch alle Anwendungen. Gerade in diesen komplexen Themen bilden Normen von Anfang an ein wichtiges Grundgerüst und geben Orientierung. Sie vernetzen die einzelnen technischen Schwerpunkte zu den großen Themen von heute. Gemeinsam erstellte Normen erfordern eine disziplinübergreifende Zusammenarbeit und vernetzen zum Beispiel Akteure aus so unterschiedlichen Bereichen wie Medizin, Ingenieurwissenschaften, Soziologie und Wirtschaft zu einer Arbeitsgemeinschaft im Bereich Active Assisted Living. Dies gilt auch für den Bereich Industrie 4.0, in dem Maschinen- und Anlagenbauer mit Automatisierungstechnikern und IT-Spezialisten Hand in Hand arbeiten. Bei derartigen Querschnittsthemen sind konsensbasierte Normen und Spezifikationen eine entscheidende Voraussetzung für die erfolgreiche Umsetzung neuer Konzepte und Technologien. Aber nicht nur der technologische Wandel spielt eine Rolle. Zunehmend ändern sich auch die normungspolitischen Rahmenbedingungen. Dabei werden immer wieder Forderungen nach mehr Transparenz, geringerer Durchlaufzeit und frei verfügbaren Normen laut. Um den Wirtschaftsstandort Deutschland zu sichern, ist ein effizientes, fortlaufend optimiertes Normungssystem für die elektrotechnische Normung ein zentrales Element, und es müssen Antworten auf das „Wie“ gefunden werden. Antwort darauf sind beispielsweise Normungs-Roadmaps. Mit dem Anspruch, gemeinsam erarbeitete Ergebnisse interessierten Kreisen – auch der Politik – zur Verfügung zu stellen, entstehen innerhalb der wichtigen Anwendungskomplexe immer häufiger durch die Technischen Experten der DKE solche Publikationen. Sie greifen aktuelle Entwicklungen auf, fördern das gemeinsame Verständnis bzw. sensibilisieren für Bereiche anderer, sie ebnen den Weg zu ganzheitlichen Lösungen, zeigen den Bedarf an Normen und Spezifikationen auf und dienen als strategische Vorlage für die europäische und internationale Normungsarbeit. Mit dieser Herangehensweise an eine branchenübergreifende Normung und Standardisierung stellt sich die DKE der Herausforderung der technologischen Entwicklung.

Die Zukunft bringt aber auch noch andere Herausforderungen, die es zu bewältigen gilt. Hier lassen sich geeignete Antworten zum Beispiel durch den zielgerichteten Einsatz moderner IT-Werkzeuge, Prozess- oder Organisationsoptimierungen finden. Mit dem DKE-internen Programm „Normung 2020“, in dessen Mittelpunkt die strategische Ausrichtung und kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung der Leistungen der DKE für die Normanwender und die Technischen Experten steht, werden Themen wie Content Management, Online-Kommunikation oder Normen-Management beraten und bearbeitet.

Wir denken über neue Formen der Gremienzusammenarbeit, der Online-Normbearbeitung oder -Kommentierung nach. Wir installieren Werkzeuge wie das Use Case Management Repository als Grundlage für neue Normungsansätze. Zur Verbreitung normungsrelevanter Informationen und zur Wissensvermittlung nutzen wir neue Kommunikationskanäle wie Social Media oder Webinare. Mit der Sicherheit als Ziel und dem Wissen um die Technologien von morgen meinen wir –

NORMUNG VERNETZT ZUKUNFT

Bent
Roland Bent, Vorsitzender der DKE