DKE Homepage

Logo VDE / DKE Annual Report 2015 STANDARDIZATION NETWORKING THE FUTURE

ELECTRICITY FROM THE ETHERNET CABLE?

Powering IT devices via the network cable - commonly known as Power over Ethernet (PoE) - is enjoying increasing popularity. IEEE specifications published in 2003 and 2009 permit the device a maximum supply of 12.95 W or 21.90 W. But this is no longer sufficient for many applications today. Various proprietary solutions as well as a standardization project launched at the end of 2013 are now promising 100 W and more.

Does this mean that the end is now in sight for the 230 V power supply of network-powered equipment? Can we soon expect to see notebooks, printers, TVs and similar multimedia devices without tiresome external power supplies? Can data connectors achieve the holy grail of introducing globally standardized electrical plugs through the back door?

What appears at first glance to be the egg of Columbus actually raises a number of questions on closer inspection. What does PoE mean for the communication cable networks which will then be required to transmit such high power levels in addition to their primary purpose of data transfer? Are the data cables which are used able to cope with the resulting thermal load? And what about electrical safety?

The DKE already addressed these and other questions some time ago in the European Committee for Communication Cable Systems. At present too little is known about the effects of the systematic and persistent use of a data cable - or entire bundles of cables - to transmit power. Under German leadership, CENELEC/TC 215 has developed a mathematical model which can be used to calculate the expected warming of cable harnesses. An important aspect is the influence which the temperature increase due to the remote power supply has on the transmission capacity of the communication cable system. The cable attenuation is temperature-related, and so the the use of PoE will significantly reduce the currently standardized path lengths in some cases. Each reduction must be individually calculated based on the cable used and the type of installation.

It has been shown that the target power of 100 W given in the specifications is feasible if certain conditions are met. However, the planners and installers of communication cable systems must comply with additional requirements in order to meet both the desired transmission technical characteristics and at the same time provide a power supply in the range of 75 W to 100 W. Appropriate new requirements and recommendations for this are currently being prepared and are to be added to the existing standards.

One thing is, however, already clear: no world-wide harmonized electrical plug will be introduced for Power over Ethernet.

Strom-Netzwerk-Kabel
Contact
Wegmann, Thomas
+49 69 6308-315
thomas.wegmann@vde.com

DKE Homepage

Logo VDE / DKE Jahresbericht 2015 Normung vernetzt Zukunft

STROM AUS DEM NETZWERKKABEL?

Die Stromversorgung von informationstechnischen Endgeräten über die Netzwerkverkabelung – gemeinhin Power over Ethernet (PoE) genannt – erfreut sich zunehmender Popularität. In 2003 und 2009 veröffentlichte IEEE-Spezifikationen stellen dem Endgerät max. 12,95 W bzw. 21,90 W zur Verfügung. Doch reicht dies heute für viele Anwendungen nicht mehr aus. Proprietäre Lösungen sowie ein Ende 2013 gestartetes Standardisierungsprojekt versprechen neuerdings 100 W und mehr.

Ist also das Ende der 230-V-Stromversorgung netzwerkbetriebener Geräte nahe? Sind demnächst Notebooks, Drucker, Fernseher und ähnliche Multimediageräte ohne lästige externe Netzteile zu erwarten? Löst ein Datensteckverbinder etwa gar den „Gordischen Knoten“ und führt durch die Hintertür den weltweit genormten Elektrostecker ein?

Was sich auf den ersten Blick als das Ei des Kolumbus darstellt, wirft bei genauerer Betrachtung eine Reihe von Fragen auf: Was bedeutet PoE für die Kommunikationskabelnetze, über die solch hohe Leistungen zusätzlich zu ihrem primären Zweck – der Datenübertragung – geschickt werden? Sind die verwendeten Datenkabel der damit einhergehenden thermischen Belastung gewachsen? Und wie steht es um die elektrische Sicherheit?

Diese und weitere Fragen hat die DKE bereits vor einiger Zeit im europäischen Komitee für Kommunikationskabelanlagen thematisiert. Bis dato gab es nur unzureichende Erkenntnisse über die Effekte, die sich bei der systematischen und dauerhaften Beaufschlagung eines Datenkabels bzw. ganzer Kabelbündel einstellen. Unter deutscher Federführung hat CENELEC/TC 215 ein mathematisches Modell entwickelt, mit dem die zu erwartende Erwärmung von Kabelbündeln berechnet werden kann. Ein wichtiger Aspekt ist der Einfluss der Temperaturerhöhung durch Fernspeisung auf das übertragungstechnische Leistungsvermögen der Kommunikationskabelanlage. Da die Kabeldämpfung temperaturabhängig ist, wird der Einsatz von PoE die derzeit genormten Streckenlängen z. T. deutlich verringern. Die jeweilige Verkürzung muss in Abhängigkeit der verwendeten Kabeltypen und der Installationsart individuell berechnet werden.

Es zeigt sich, dass die in den Spezifikationen angestrebte Leistung von 100 W unter Einhaltung gewisser Randbedingungen realisierbar ist. Die Planer und Errichter von Kommunikationskabelanlagen werden allerdings zusätzliche Anforderungen einhalten müssen, um sowohl die angestrebten übertragungstechnischen Eigenschaften einzuhalten und gleichzeitig eine Stromversorgung in der Größenordnung von 75 W bis 100 W zu ermöglichen. Geeignete neue Anforderungen und Empfehlungen hierfür werden derzeit erarbeitet und sollen in die bestehenden Normen aufgenommen werden.

Eines scheint jedoch schon heute klar: der weltweit harmonisierte Elektrostecker wird mit Power over Ethernet nicht eingeführt.

Strom-Netzwerk-Kabel
Kontakt
Wegmann, Thomas
+49 69 6308-315
thomas.wegmann@vde.com