DKE Homepage

Logo VDE / DKE Annual Report 2015 STANDARDIZATION NETWORKING THE FUTURE

INFORMATION & KOMMUNIKATION - GEGEN STROMSCHLAG IMMUN?

Birds like to have a good view and use overhead lines as places to land and gather. They do so as a matter of course, naturally without any knowledge of electric potential differences and electrical circuits. Because as long as they only touch one line, there is no risk for them, as the circuit is not closed.

Every year, about 10,000 birds suffer fatal electric shocks; birds with a larger wingspan are most likely to be affected. They receive a dangerous electric shock if they simultaneously touch another line or the earthed pylon. To avoid this, protection measures have been drawn up under Article 53 of the Federal Nature Conservation Act. This calls upon electric utilities to convert their pylons to prevent electric shocks. The technical experts in the standardization bodies are needed to help formulate these protective measures. They have developed protective caps, for example, to enclose the cables near to the pylons in an effort at least to prevent short-circuits to earth.

Bild Thomas H. Wegmann

Thomas H. Wegmann
European Coordinator for Data Centre Standardization

"Data centres are the neurons in the nervous system of the digital society and have to serve a wide variety of business purposes. The individual technical solutions are therefore equally varied. With the publication of EN 50600, everyone involved in planning, implementation and operation now has access to a consistent body of standards which sets out the basic principles without inhibiting technical innovation."

DKE Homepage

Logo VDE / DKE Jahresbericht 2015 Normung vernetzt Zukunft

INFORMATION & KOMMUNIKATION - GEGEN STROMSCHLAG IMMUN?

Vögel haben gern einen guten Ausblick und nutzen Freileitungen als Lande- und Sammelplatz. Das tun sie ganz selbstverständlich, ohne dass sie sich mit elektrischen Potentialunterschieden und Stromkreisen auskennen. Denn solange sie nur eine Leitung berühren, besteht keine Gefahr für sie, weil der Stromkreis nicht geschlossen ist.

Jährlich werden etwa 10.000 Vögel Opfer eines tödlichen Stromschlags, wobei meist Vögel größerer Flügelspannweite betroffen sind. Berühren sie versehentlich gleichzeitig eine weitere Leitung oder den (geerdeten) Mast, so durchfließt sie ein gefährlicher Körperstrom. Um dem vorzubeugen, sind Schutzmaßnahmen nach dem Bundesnaturschutzgesetz § 53 vorgesehen. Stromversorger sind daher dazu angehalten, ihre Masten stromschlagsicher umzurüsten. Für die Ausgestaltung dieser Schutzmaßnahmen sind die Technischen Experten in den Normungs- und Standardisierungsgremien gefragt. Um zumindest einen Erdschluss zu verhindert haben die Experten beispielsweise Schutzkappen erarbeitet, die in der Nähe der Masten die Leitungen umgeben.

Bild Thomas H. Wegmann

Thomas H. Wegmann
Europäischer Koordinator für Rechenzentrumsnormung

„Rechenzentren sind die Neuronen im Nervensystem der digitalen Gesellschaft und müssen den unterschiedlichsten Geschäftszwecken gerecht werden. Entsprechend unterschiedlich fallen die konkreten technischen Lösungen aus. Mit der EN 50600 erhalten alle an der Planung, der Realisierung und dem Betrieb beteiligten Personen erstmals ein ganzheitlich formuliertes Normenwerk an die Hand, das grundlegende Prinzipien formuliert, ohne die technische Innovation zu hemmen.“