DKE Homepage

Logo VDE / DKE Annual Report 2015 STANDARDIZATION NETWORKING THE FUTURE

5G – TURNING MOBILE TELECOMMUNICATIONS INTO THE TACTILE INTERNET

5G The ongoing development of communication requires networks which are not only faster, but also robust and secure. Research is being carried out here on wired solutions and also on the fifth generation of mobile technology (5G) which aims to supersede LTE and achieve speeds exceeding 1 Gbit/s.

In addition to higher transmission speeds, this should also pave the way for such concepts as the Internet of Things. The objective is to achieve an increase in capacity and guarantee real-time capability in the millisecond range. The ZDKI research programme (see page 18) is drawing up basic wireless principles for industrial applications and will be able to contribute these to the 5G development.

A further aim is to put people first, as reflected in the keyword 'Tactile Internet'. Tactile Internet denotes a reaction time of a few milliseconds which is indiscernible to humans. The Tactile Internet could help areas such as telemedicine or autonomous driving gain significant market relevance within a few years. An overview of the future potential is provided in the VDE position paper of the same name.

In addition to the European 5G Infrastructure Public-Private Partnership (5G-PPP), in which over 800 companies are investing in research along with the European Commission, there are numerous other national and European research projects. ETSI is also participating here as an associate member and as one of the three European standardization organizations recognized by the EU Commission. Relevant standards need to be developed in the coming years to bring the technology to market readiness. The DKE is already involved in numerous research projects aimed at incorporating future application requirements into 5G technology. Further information can be found on the DKE Innovation Platform .

Contact
Wakke, Paul , Dr.
+49 69 6308-465
paul.wakke@vde.com

DKE Homepage

Logo VDE / DKE Jahresbericht 2015 Normung vernetzt Zukunft

5G – AUS MOBILFUNK WIRD TAKTILES INTERNET

5G Die fortschreitende Entwicklung der Kommunikation bedingt nicht nur immer schnellere, sondern auch robuste und sichere Netze. In diesem Zusammenhang wird neben kabelgebundenen Lösungen auch an der fünften Mobilfunkgeneration (kurz: 5G) geforscht, die LTE ablösen und Geschwindigkeiten von über 1 Gbit/s bieten soll.

Neben höheren Übertragungsgeschwindigkeiten sollen aber auch grundlegende Konzepte wie das Internet der Dinge ermöglicht werden. Dabei muss neben der Kapazitätssteigerung auch die Echtzeitfähigkeit im Bereich einer Millisekunde garantiert werden. Das Forschungsprogramm ZDKI (siehe Seite 18) erarbeitet hierzu funktechnische Grundlagen für Industrieanwendungen und kann diese in die 5G-Entwicklung einfließen lassen.

Gleichzeitig soll der Mensch im Vordergrund stehen, was sich im Schlagwort „Taktiles Internet“ widerspiegelt. Taktiles Internet meint in diesem Zusammenhang eine für den Menschen nicht wahrnehmbare Reaktionszeit im Bereich weniger Millisekunden. Durch das Taktile Internet könnte bspw. die Telemedizin oder das autonome Fahren in wenigen Jahren an erheblicher Marktrelevanz gewinnen. Eine Übersicht über das Zukunftspotenzial bietet das gleichnamige VDE-Positionspapier.

Forschungsseitig gibt es neben zahlreichen nationalen und europäischen Forschungsprojekten auch die europäische 5G Infrastructure Public-Privat- Partnership (5G-PPP), in der über 800 Unternehmen gemeinsam mit der Europäischen Kommission in die Forschung investieren. Mit ETSI als Assoziiertes Mitglied beteiligt sich hier auch eine der drei durch die EU-Kommission anerkannten Europäischen Normungsorganisationen. Um die Marktreife voranzutreiben, müssen in den kommenden Jahren auch entsprechende Normen und Standards erarbeitet werden. Die DKE engagiert sich bereits in zahlreichen Forschungsvorhaben, um Anforderungen zukünftiger Anwendungen in die 5G-Technologie einfließen zu lassen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der DKE-Innovationsplattform.

Kontakt
Wakke, Paul , Dr.
+49 69 6308-465
paul.wakke@vde.com