DKE Homepage

Logo VDE / DKE Annual Report 2015 STANDARDIZATION NETWORKING THE FUTURE

REVERSE OPERATION IN FUEL CELLS

Producing hydrogen from electricity, storing it and then turning it back into electricity and heat in a fuel cell?

The steady increase in the supply of fluctuating renewable electricity raises the essential question of how best to secure the supply of energy to industry. At present, reliable heat-controlled processes constitute the basis of industrial production, whereas fluctuating electrical process management will be called for in the future. Fuel cells, as continuous electrochemical processes, provide the basis for developing both new electricity storage technologies (power to power, power to gas) and production processes (power to substance) and for deploying them industrially.

Brennstofzellen-Schema

These methods deliver electrical energy from energy-rich substances or they produce energy-rich substances as products from electrical energy and raw materials. This perspective has led to new developments worldwide, the marketing of which is to be promoted through development-related standardization.

The "Reverse Fuel Cells" working group within IEC/TC 105 "Fuel Cell Technologies" has developed a work programme that will be implemented over the coming years. The change in the process management makes it possible to use fuels to help guard against longer supply downtimes, such as calm periods, by increasing existing industrial energy storage capacity.

Contact
Grau, Jürgen
+49 69 6308-249
juergen.grau@vde.com

DKE Homepage

Logo VDE / DKE Jahresbericht 2015 Normung vernetzt Zukunft

BRENNSTOFFZELLEN IM UMKEHRBETRIEB

Aus Strom Wasserstoff erzeugen, speichern und in einer Brennstoffzelle wieder Strom und Wärme gewinnen?

Die weitere Zunahme der fluktuierenden regenerativen Stromeinspeisung wirft die wesentliche Frage der Sicherung der industriellen Energieversorgung auf. Während heute gesicherte wärmegeführte Prozesse die Grundlagen der industriellen Produktion bilden, sind zukünftig fluktuierende elektrische Prozessführungen gefragt. Brennstoffzellen als kontinuierlich arbeitende elektrochemische Prozesse ermöglichen es, sowohl neue Stromspeichertechnologien (power to power, power to gas) als auch neue Produktionsverfahren (power to substance) zu entwickeln und industriell einzusetzen.

Brennstofzellen-Schema

Diese Verfahren liefern aus energiereichen Substanzen elektrische Energie oder sie stellen umgekehrt mit Hilfe von zugeführter elektrischer Energie und Ausgangsstoffen energiereiche Substanzen als Produkte her. Diese Perspektive hat weltweit zu Neuentwicklungen geführt, deren Markteinführung durch entwicklungsbegleitende Normung gefördert werden soll.

Die Arbeitsgruppe „Reverse Fuel Cells“ innerhalb des IEC/TC 105 „Fuel Cell Technologies“ hat dazu ein Arbeitsprogramm entwickelt, das in den folgenden Jahren umgesetzt werden soll. Der Wechsel der Prozessführungen ermöglicht es, auch Energieträger durch eine Erweiterung der vorhandenen industriellen Lagerkapazität zur Energiespeicherung gegen größere Versorgungsausfälle wie Flauten zu nutzen.

Kontakt
Grau, Jürgen
+49 69 6308-249
juergen.grau@vde.com