DKE Homepage

Logo VDE / DKE Annual Report 2015 STANDARDIZATION NETWORKING THE FUTURE

DKE SCIENCE TO STANDARDS (STS) PROGRAMME

As part of its efforts to promote budding engineers, the DKE has invested a great deal over the years both in the future of standardization work and in the promotion of young talent. We support students in their diploma, Bachelor's or Master's theses, not only by offering technical and normative but also financial assistance.

As in previous years, a number of students were again supported in 2015. The range of topics extended from sustainable energy supply through to gesture-based robot control. By November 2015 three graduates had completed their theses and were given the opportunity to present them. The jury, consisting of the attending supervisors and VDE employees, had the task of selecting the best thesis. The solution-finding process was evaluated, for example, as were the objectives achieved, the presentation and the benefit to the DKE. Mr Colin de Vrieze managed to convince the jury in these regards and was declared the winner of the first prize in the 2015 STS Programme based on his academic excellence, his practical implementation and the direct connection pf his topic to standardization. Congratulations to the proud winner! In his thesis entitled "Design and implementation of a bidirectional power line communication system for intelligent lighting systems" he developed and evaluated a complete system design which can be used for the intelligent control of lighting systems based on existing wiring.

Our thanks also go, of course, to Messrs Tomaj Najafi and Andreas Kunze, whose submissions were also well received by the appropriate bodies. Mr. Kunze's thesis "Status monitoring of an HRC fuse" evaluated a diagnostic method for monitoring high-voltage high-current fuses, thereby helping to prevent uncontrolled blowing of the fuses. In his thesis entitled "DC networks in the energy supply" Mr. Najafi examined the feasibility of using DC voltage in the low voltage range and compared different approaches.

All the participants were able to benefit from the theses and gained new insights. We would like to wish them all every success in their careers and all the best for the future!
DKE 2015

Contact
Linke, Daniela
+49 69 6308-262
daniela.linke@vde.com

DKE Homepage

Logo VDE / DKE Jahresbericht 2015 Normung vernetzt Zukunft

DKE-PROGRAMM SCIENCE TO STANDARDS (STS)

Mit der Förderung angehender Ingenieure investiert die DKE seit Jahren sowohl in die Zukunft der Normungsarbeit als auch in die Nachwuchsförderung. Wir unterstützen Studierende im Rahmen ihrer Diplom-, Bachelor- oder Masterarbeiten nicht nur durch persönliche Betreuung im technischen und normativen Bereich sondern auch finanziell.

In 2015 wurden, ebenso wie in den vorangegangenen Jahren, wieder mehrere Studierende betreut. Dabei reichte die Palette der Themen von nachhaltiger Energieversorgung bis hin zur Robotersteuerung durch Gesten. Im November 2015 hatten drei Absolventen ihre Arbeiten fertig gestellt und damit die Möglichkeit, diese zu präsentieren. Die anwesenden Betreuer und VDE-Mitarbeiter hatten als Jury die Aufgabe, die beste Abschlussarbeit zu ermitteln. Bewertet wurden dabei beispielsweise die Vorgehensweise bei der Lösungsfindung, die erreichten Ziele, die Präsentation oder der Nutzen für die DKE. Aufgrund der wissenschaftlichen Exzellenz verbunden mit der praktischen Umsetzung sowie des direkten Normungsbezugs konnte Herr Colin de Vrieze letztlich die Jury überzeugen und ist der Gewinner des ersten Preises im STS-Programm 2015. Wir freuen uns mit dem stolzen Preisträger. In seiner Arbeit „Entwurf und Implementierung eines bidirektionalen Powerline-Kommunikationssystems für intelligente Beleuchtungssysteme“ hat er ein vollständiges Systemkonzept erarbeitet und evaluiert, mit dem sich Beleuchtungssysteme bei vorhandener Verkabelung intelligent steuern lassen.

Unser Dank geht selbstverständlich auch an die Herren Tomaj Najafi und Andreas Kunze, deren Beiträge in den entsprechenden Gremien ebenso hohe Anerkennung finden. Herr Kunze konnte mit seiner Arbeit „Zustandsmonitoring an einer HH-Sicherung“ ein Diagnoseverfahren evaluieren, das Hochspannungs-Hochstrom-Sicherungen überwacht und so ein unkontrolliertes Durchschmelzen der Sicherung verhindert wird. Herr Najafi hat in seiner Arbeit „DC-Netze in der Energieversorgung“ untersucht, inwiefern sich der Einsatz von Gleichspannung im Bereich der Niederspannung realisieren lässt und dabei unterschiedliche Ansätze verglichen.

Alle Beteiligten konnten von den Arbeiten profitieren und haben neue Erkenntnisse gewonnen. Wir wünschen allen beruflichen Erfolg und alles Gute für die Zukunft! DIE DKE 2015

Kontakt
Linke, Daniela
+49 69 6308-262
daniela.linke@vde.com