DKE Homepage

Logo VDE / DKE Annual Report 2015 STANDARDIZATION NETWORKING THE FUTURE

PROTECTION INSTRUMENTATION – DETERMINING MEASUREMENT UNCERTAINTY

Personal radiation detector There is an element of truth to the maxim that "a measurement presented without a specified uncertainty level is a lie". It is common - but misleading - practice to suggest a high level of precision by including many places after the decimal point. Meanwhile, two different readings of the same quantity may indeed be correct, despite the measured values differing.

An indication of uncertainty based on the ISO/IEC "Guide to the Expression of Uncertainty in Measurement" (GUM) is required in DIN EN and DIN IEC standards for radiation protection dosimeters and similar instruments. The purpose of the new VDE Guideline is to support the use of the GUM. The principle of the GUM is first presented using a very simple but concrete case; numerous examples are then given in five annexes.

Each annex focuses on a particular type of measuring device. The first example of each annex gives the total measurement uncertainty of a measuring device which meets all the minimum requirements of the product standard. The second example determines the uncertainty level based on additional information in a specific measurement.

The VDE Guideline developed by the "Radiation Protection Dosimeter" committee contains two methods for determining the uncertainty, concrete information on the situations in which the two methods should be used, and finally a very simple method for deciding whether a measurement result is negligible or not.

Contact
Vogel, Georg
+49 69 6308-341
georg.vogel@vde.com

DKE Homepage

Logo VDE / DKE Jahresbericht 2015 Normung vernetzt Zukunft

STRAHLENSCHUTZ-MESSGERÄTE – BESTIMMUNG DER UNSICHERHEIT BEIM MESSEN

Personal radiation detector Der Ausspruch „Jeder Messwert ohne Angabe seiner Unsicherheit ist eine Lüge“ hat durchaus einen wahren Kern. Wird doch gerne durch Angabe vieler Stellen hinter dem Komma eine Genauigkeit suggeriert, die überhaupt nicht vorhanden ist. Anderseits können zwei unterschiedliche Messwerte der gleichen Größe durchaus korrekt sein, obwohl sich die gemessenen Werte unterscheiden.

Daher wird die Unsicherheitsbestimmung nach ISO/IEC „Guide to the Expression of Uncertainty in Measurement” (GUM) in DIN-EN- und DIN-IEC-Normen zu Strahlenschutzdosimetern und sonstigen Strahlenschutz- Messgeräten gefordert. Zweck der neu entstandenen VDE-Leitlinie ist es, die Anwendung des GUM zu unterstützen. Anhand eines sehr einfachen aber konkreten Falls wird zunächst das Prinzip des GUM dargestellt, und in fünf Anhängen sind zahlreiche Beispiele aufgeführt.

Dabei konzentriert sich jeder Anhang auf eine Messgeräteart. Im ersten Beispiel jeden Anhangs wird die Gesamt-Messunsicherheit eines Messgerätes bestimmt, welches alle Mindestanforderungen der Produktnorm erfüllt. In einem zweiten Beispiel wird die Unsicherheit unter der Annahme von Zusatzinformationen bei einer konkreten Messung ermittelt.

Die von dem Komitee „Strahlenschutzdosimeter“ erarbeitete VDE-Leitlinie enthält, neben zwei Methoden zur Bestimmung der Unsicherheit und konkreten Hinweisen, wann welche der beiden Methoden zu verwenden ist, noch abschließend eine sehr einfache Methode zur Entscheidung, ob ein Messergebnis signifikant von Null abweicht oder nicht.

Kontakt
Vogel, Georg
+49 69 6308-341
georg.vogel@vde.com