DKE Homepage

Logo VDE / DKE Annual Report 2015 STANDARDIZATION NETWORKING THE FUTURE

ANLAGEN & INSTALLATIONEN - LUPE ODER FEUERZEUG?

A small device is often all that is needed to produce a great effect. Magnifying glasses are simple optical devices which can reveal small details to the human eye. This is due to the magnifying effect of a convex lens which produces a virtual upright image. If the rays of the sun are refracted by such a lens, however, the concentrated light can raise the temperature high enough to ignite flammable material at the focal point.

As can be seen from the magnifying glass, even simple devices can hold a devastating potential for danger if energy is introduced. And the larger and more complex the (especially electrical) device, the greater the potential risks. Industrial plant and complementary installations can be rendered unreliable or even a danger to life and limb through incorrect handling, use with the wrong equipment or improper operation. When products perform as expected, we regard that as normal. We often don't realize what role standards play in improving their quality, safety, reliability, effectiveness and interchangeability.

Bild Dirk Barthel

Dirk Barthel
Full-time DKE staff member on Committee 221 for electrical installations and electric shock protection

"The DIN VDE 0100 (VDE 0100) series of standards contains provisions concerning the design, construction and testing of electrical low voltage installations and has made a major contribution to ensuring the safety of people and the environment but also to protecting property from danger and damage for over 120 years."

DKE Homepage

Logo VDE / DKE Jahresbericht 2015 Normung vernetzt Zukunft

ANLAGEN & INSTALLATIONEN - LUPE ODER FEUERZEUG?

Man benötigt oft keine großen Anlagen, um Großes zu bewirken. Lupen sind einfache optische Geräte, mit denen sich kleine Einzelheiten dem menschlichen Auge erschließen. Genutzt wird dabei der vergrößernde Effekt einer Sammellinse, durch die ein aufrechtes, virtuelles Bild entsteht. Brechen sich Sonnenstrahlen in einer solchen Linse, kommt es auf der anderen Seite durch das gebündelte Licht zum Temperaturanstieg, der in Höhe des Brennpunktes brennbares Material entzünden kann.

Wie man an der Lupe sieht, tragen schon einfache Geräte durch Zufuhr von Energie ein verheerendes Gefahrenpotenzial in sich. Werden die Geräte größer, komplexer und verrichten ihren Dienst elektrisch, steigen auch die potenziellen Risiken. Anlagenaufbau und ergänzende Installationen können durch fehlerhafte Handhabung, falsche Kombination oder unsachgemäßen Betrieb unzuverlässig oder sogar gefährlich nicht nur für Leib und Leben sein. Entsprechen Produkte unseren Erwartungen, erachten wir das als selbstverständlich. Meist ist uns nicht bewusst, welche Rolle Normen bei der Verbesserung von Qualität, Sicherheit, Zuverlässigkeit, Wirksamkeit und Austauschbarkeit spielen.

Bild Dirk Barthel

Dirk Barthel
Hauptamtlicher DKE-Mitarbeiter im Komitee 221 für elektrische Anlagen und Schutz gegen elektrischen Schlag

„Die Normen der Reihe DIN VDE 0100 (VDE 0100) enthalten Bestimmungen für die Planung, Errichtung und Prüfung von elektrischen Niederspannungsanlagen und leisten somit seit nunmehr über 120 Jahren einen großen Beitrag, die Sicherheit von Mensch und Umwelt sicherzustellen und auch Sachwerte vor Gefahr und Beschädigung zu schützen.“